Shahrir wants to quit cabinet post

shahrirKUALA LUMPUR: After losing in his bid for a seat on the Umno supreme council, Datuk Shahrir Samad has announced his intention to quit as domestic trade and consumer affairs minister.

Shahrir, appointed to the cabinet last year, said he intended to tender his resignation on the day Datuk Seri Najib Razak takes over as prime minister.

“This party election is the best way to assess the performance of the party’s representatives in the government and I submitted myself to be judged by the delegates when I offered to contest.

“For me, the results indicate that I have not been accepted by the party and for them, I did not fulfil the party’s expectations.

“So I have no choice and would have to leave the cabinet,” Shahrir said when contacted after the results were announced.

Leave a comment

Filed under UMNO

Leave a Reply

