SAPP accepts challenge by Tan

SAPP accepts BN’s challenge to re-contest 6 seats issued by Gerakan new national Vice President Raymond Tan

Raymond Tan misserableKota Kinabalu, 25 June 2009: The two assemblypersons and two MPs of SAPP are ready and willing to accept the challenge of Parti Gerakan’s new national Vice President Datuk Raymond Tan to re-contest their respective seats using the SAPP symbol. Raymond Tan has issued this challenge in a local newspaper today.

In a joint press statement, SAPP’s two assemblypersons namely, Melanie Chia Chui Ket and Datuk Liew Teck Chan; two MPs Datuk Eric Majimbun and Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui said, since Raymond Tan claims moral standing, SAPP reciprocates his challenge to him (Raymond) and his Parti Gerakan colleague Au Kam Wah who is Elopura Assemblyman to resign their seats and re-contest under the BN-Gerakan. This is because they have switched parties after winning their seats which have been held by SAPP ever since 1994.

“If not for SAPP, they would not have been candidates in previous elections. And if not because of the efforts of members and supporters, they would not have been YBs holding high and lucrative posts in the government today. Raymond Tan and Au Kam Wah were never members of the BN because there is no provision for individual members in BN. They were members of SAPP who used SAPP’s party machinery and members to win elections.

“As a lawyer and four term YB, Datuk Raymond is not so ignorant that Article 17 (5) of the Sabah Constitution and Article 48(6) of the Federal Constitution forbid a member of the House from re-contesting in an election for five years if he resigns his seat.

“Therefore, SAPP calls on Parti Gerakan to get the BN government to put into effect:

(a) The amendment to the Federal and Sabah constitutions to allow for members of the State Assembly and Parliament to re-contest their seats in by-elections after their respective resignations,

(b) The simultaneous resignations of Datuk Raymond Tan (Tanjong Papat) and Au Kam Wah (Elopura) with the SAPP’s assemblypersons Datuk Liew Teck Chan (Likas), Melanie Chia Chui Ket (Luyang) and members of parliament Datuk Eric Majimbun (Sepanggar) and Datuk Dr. Chua Soon Bui (Tawau).


Leave a comment

Filed under Sabah News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s